All of my ramblings on one site

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why I'm Deciding to Not Have a Wedding

Every night for the past three months I've been exploring the wonders of DIY weddings on Pinterest. Getting ideas of a theme, a bouquet consisting of lavender and wildflowers, a bohemian dress, having your guests write on a globe instead of a guest book, a table soley for people who passed before they got to see your wedding and having a single flower in a vase in front of their seat at the table, etc etc, and then officially choosing a real shaman and reiki master who is a small little Native American guy to marry you.

I could telling asking Devin his opinion was stressing him out, mostly because of how much all this shit is going to cost. We can barely stay afloat after a trip to Starbucks let alone having a huge expensive ceremony. There are so many unreasonable things that people pay for at weddings. Photographers, waitresses, a bar, a bartender, a DJ, a Coat Hanger. Why? There are family members that I don't want to attend, why the heck would I want another twenty strangers there?

"Okay, so don't hire Photographers or waitresses or anything like that."

We are too shy (some people would maybe say "boring"). Devin and I aren't the kind of couple that wants to be showered in attention for a whole day. He proposed to me in my car (at Disney), because he knows I would hate the attention, and he would have also. A lot of people I told my engagement story too were like ummm why did he propose in your car? As if its disrespectful that he doesn't want to make a huge show out of a relationship that is only about us, not everyone else walking by. It's our happy moment, and it's not really something I want to share with a bunch of strangers. Not even with family members.

It would put a lot of pressure on both of us. I think people make it out to be way way more than it is. What are we really celebrating? The only difference is now we can't legally get away from each other. That's not suffocating sounding at all. It should be more about taking your relationship to the next level and assuring the other people that you will love them and take care of them until one of you die. It's the comfort of knowing that someone will have your back every day of your life, every sickness and celebration, every anxious and sleepy day. That you'll start creating your own little family to watch grow up and make memories with.

I still want Spirit Weaver (no, really, he's legit) to marry us but I don't want a reception or a dance floor or an ice sculpture or a big stupid wedding cake and being suffocated in a room full of people I don't really like to begin with but I only invited them because I'm a serial people-pleaser.

I'd like my "wedding day" to start out by us getting officially married at the courthouse by spirit weaver, then we have a little get together with family and then us go on a silly little cheap date. That would be so much more "us" than having an overabundant ceremony where I would probably not have fun at all. I've never liked parties or other peoples weddings.

I wonder what the family is going to think of this.

12:46 a.m. - 2015-07-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The past the present, and the future

Photobucket

shit:
latest entry
about me
archives
notes
DiaryLand
contact
random entry

other diaries:

anorexicmeg
silencedsong
assholebaird

other shit:

myspace
post secrets
facebook
myhero